What the Frigg?

tumblr_mffhx4uKMo1qj7f2lo1_1280

Today Christians are celebrating The Feast of the Epiphany.

Frigg heavy with Baldr

Frigg heavy with Baldr

So, as I make a 6 gallon batch of mead and begin my favorite alchemical process (fermentation), I thought I’d take a minute to reflect on Frigg. Why Frigg on Epiphany? Well, why not? Plus, I always see her as Mary, mother of “the Son who died and will return in the last days.”

Let me clarify a small thing before I go on. There are some who consider Frigg (Frigga) and Freyja to be the same figure. I do not.

Frigg is a goddess of the Æsir and Freyja of the Vanir. Sure, they are a lot alike: cloaks, falcons, necklaces, access to the High Seat (though Frigg has Hliðskjálf and Freyja does not), shape-shifting, spinning, midwifery, etc. Some even claim that Odin, husband of Frigg, and Óðr, husband of Freyja, are one in the same. However, Freyja was the daughter of Njord and Frigg was the daughter of Fjörgynn; though I admit that Fjörgyns mær could mean either/both “daughter” and “wife.” So, “Yes,” you might say, “but Njord and Fjörgynn may also be two avatars of the same being–both earth-gods.”

“No,” I say. Just no. In my gut it seems that the stories just don’t match up.

If you have a better idea, I’m willing to listen. Seriously, fill me in.

Frigg-with-infant-Balder-norse-mythology-22433124-767-1041My big question becomes about Baldr. What is Freyja’s relationship to Baldr? It doesn’t seem like the Eddas and Sagas would fail to mention Freyja’s son if he were the god who would die, descend to the underworld, and return in the end-days of Ragnarök when he would reign over a new incarnation.

Baldr sounds a little like Jesus in a lot of ways to a lot of folks (forgive me if I forego citations). So, Frigg and Mary of Nazareth may be avatars of the same being, but Freyja? She’s, um, no virgin. Just ask the dwarfs.

Maybe Freyja is the Lilith to Frigg’s Eve?

But alas, I’ve mixed my metaphors–Eve and Mary are not interchangeable . . . are they?

Waes Hael!

Ehsha

4 thoughts on “What the Frigg?

  1. Given the number of times I’ve hear that “Eve’s sin was forgiven in Mary’s obedience” during my years of attending Christmas Masses… they are more related than some might want to admit.

What are you thoughts?

