And Now For Something Completely Different

This post is complicated and difficult to write. So, I’m going to keep it short and sweet. I may be able to open up and share more later, but right now my emotions are too raw. As this story unfolds, I hope to be able to tell you all the ins and outs of what happened here. It’s a TV miniseries if anything ever was.

If you know anything about me, you know that I am a college American Lit teacher. Well, I was.

After this summer, I will be moving on to another career. I can’t tell you all the details just yet, but this summer will be my last semester in the secular classroom.

This is not good news, but it’s not all bad news either. You see, blessings come in the oddest packaging. My husband and community have thrown their backs into helping me achieve a long time dream that has been thwarted for far too long. You might look back to The Road Not Taken and see what happened to me a few years back.

You see, a few years back we decided to open a witchy shop in town and someone took the Witch Hunt approach to stopping me. Something quite similar has happened yet again.

I find myself with the option of feeling victimized or of taking the opportunity to make myself victorious. I have chosen the latter.

Today, I know that I’m back on the right road having learned a whole lot about myself and the world around me. After all, I believe in my community. I believe in Pagan support. I believe in my gods. And I believe in justice. Don’t you?

Here’s the plan. My husband and I hope to take The Wyrd Sister, our Online artisan shop, and add to it a CosPlay shop. Our goal is to run some local Conferences. The ultimate goal is to have a lucrative mainstream business so that we can continue the ministry we do here in town without having to place an undue financial burden on any one sector. I have always loved CosPlay and I love the folks who do CosPlay in this town, especially the students. I love sewing costumes and I love building mechanisms for costumes. Oh! and the Ren Faires and The Society for Creative Anachronism stuff and the LARPing. I am going to be in nerd-nirvana.

So don’t worry about me. Support me, but don’t worry about me. I have talented lawyers (yes, lawyers), an awesome husband, a really groovy kindred, cool kids, and good gefrain with my gods. So I’m not worried—you shouldn’t be either.

Here’s the thing–without a paycheck and with several hefty household repairs that need to take priority (and all those lawyer bills), I need a little help. Not much, just a little. And every little bit helps. Even if it’s nominal, knowing that y’all give a damn helps a ton. Please lend your support by visiting my Fundrazr page and making a small (or, you know, large) donation. You can also:

  • Post a link to our campaign on your Facebook wall and TALK IT UP
  • Share our Facebook page
  • Mention this fundraiser to friends in person
  • Mention or post a link to this fundraiser on other social media
  • Write a blog post about this campaign
  • Buy something from The Wyrd Sister (I will be unable to do custom work this summer, sorry)
  • Spread the word that a new cosplay conference and shop is coming to Auburn, AL

While I’m on the subject of crowdfunding, let me add that I have been part of three crowdfunding campaigns and have looked at a lot of crowdfunding platforms. I don’t know about you, but I really like what the folks at Fundrazr do.

And while I’m plugging–let me make mention of a summer course being offered by Cherry Hill Seminary. My colleague, Holli Emore is offering a course, “Beyond Bake Sales to Real Fundraising.” The course description is:

Pagans in today’s society are hard at work building the resources that will make their traditions sustainable for years to come, and that takes funding. Beyond Bake Sales to Real Fundraising is designed to open up a topic that is mysterious and frightening to many, and for others, fulfilling or even fun. All fundraising comes back to some basic concepts about relationships. Learn to understand one of the greatest taboos in western society and in so doing lose your fear of fundraising. Students will have the opportunity to design and get feedback on their own project. The instructor has many years of experience as a nonprofit consultant and former CFRE (Certified Fund Raising Executive).

Get excited with me!? This is a very tangible opportunity for us to watch our gods take the reigns of a situation and guide it to their inevitable use.

Waes thu hael!

One thought on “And Now For Something Completely Different

What are you thoughts?

